Can I change the product that I am designing? Will I lose my design?
You can easily change your product while designing.
When the designer tool is open, you will have a Product area - on the left side of the tool - containing information about your product and a Change Product button.
Clicking on the Change Product button will allow you to change the product while keeping the design that you have already created, and apply that design to the newly selected product.